Murang’a Secondary School principals Retain Esther Wambugu as Their Chairperson

Esther Wambugu has been re-elected as the chairperson to lead the Murang’a branch of the Kenya Secondary School Heads Association (Kessha), as announced by secondary school principals in the region.

In a tightly contested election, Wambugu emerged victorious with 145 votes, narrowly surpassing her competitor, Humphrey Kariuki, who secured 143 votes.

Addressing attendees at Technology Primary School in Murang’a on Tuesday, Wambugu expressed gratitude for the opportunity to serve once again. She pledged to enhance the association’s management and foster unity among school heads.

“As the incumbent chairperson, I am well-acquainted with the inner workings of the association, and I am committed to its improvement,” she remarked, emphasizing the competitive nature of the elections as a unifying force among school leaders.

Wambugu, also the Principal of Mumbi Girls Secondary School, highlighted the association’s ongoing efforts to advocate for education-friendly government policies.

Meanwhile, Kariuki gracefully accepted defeat, extending congratulations to Wambugu and affirming his willingness to collaborate with her in strengthening the association.

“We gave our best, but the school heads have spoken by electing their preferred leaders,” acknowledged Kariuki, who serves as the principal of Githumu Boys Secondary School.

Acting national chairman of Kessha, Willy Kuria, commended the transparent and fair conduct of the elections, urging all principals to support his candidacy for the national leadership position.

“The integrity exhibited in the Murang’a branch elections is commendable. We urge all school heads from the Mt Kenya region to participate in the national conference and endorse their representative,” appealed Kuria, who also serves as the principal of Murang’a High School.

In addition to Wambugu’s re-election, Kamau Thuku of Vidhu Ramji Secondary School secured the vice chairmanship with 143 votes. The newly elected officials include Hannah Wanjiru as Secretary, Patrick Irungu as Organizer, Caroline Kioi as Vice Treasurer, Joshua Githinji as Treasurer, and Eunice Wamaru as Assistant Secretary.